What is IELTS?

Abbreviated for International English Language Testing System, IELTS is a standardised test of proficiency in English language.  Managed jointly by the British CouncilUniversity of Cambridge ESOL Examinations and IDP Education Pty Ltd., IELTS has 2 versions, viz.

  1. Academic Version
  2. General Training Version

Academic Version of IELTS is for students who want to pursue higher education in an English Speaking nation or professionals who want to practice in such a country, while General Training Version is meant for those who want to go for some non academic training or to gain some work experience or are looking for immigration.

IELTS is accepted by most of the English speaking countries including the USA. The test comprises of 4 modules viz.

  1. Listening,
  2. Reading,
  3. Writing and
  4. Speaking.

The Listening and Speaking Modules remain the same for all the test takers, but the Reading and Writing Modules differ in both the versions of the Test.

The IELTS score is marked in form of bands from 1 (no knowledge) to 9 (expert user)  and is shown on the Test Report Form, popular as TRF. Different institutes accept different scores ranging well between 5.5 to 8.5. Interestingly in UK, having earned a university degree from an English-medium institution is accepted as an alternative proof of one’s English level.

This entry was posted in IELTS Preparation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.